Newbie: Hi there and a ECL86 question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there folks. After some lurking I figured I would introduce myself and ask a valve question.

I've been designing electronics for a living since the late 1960s - starting with germanium transistors and the early op-amps for audio and signal processing. Then I moved to digital design (old school TTL, 8051 style assembler and more recently VHDL for FPGAs) in my later years. I also do PCB layout as part of my job. Hey - you've got to love engineering as a career - I still enjoy it after all these years.

Anyway, now I'm half retired and I have gone back in time to the valve era, modifying and designing guitar amps. I bought a 6V6 Fender Champ 600 and cured the hum, added a tone stack and it's now on loan in a recording studio.

Then I fixed a Fender Pro Junior that was red plating its EL84s, removed the hum again, and gave that some decent tone controls and a light overdrive effect.

Recently I designed a twin 6V6 single ended 8W amp combining the Princeton and Angela designs with some tweaks of my own. That runs a 12 inch Greenback and sounds just great to my ears. I play what I call "late night blues" at home so it needs to sound good at low levels.

Finally I repeated that class A circuit as a 3W dual EL90 using a pentode OP Transformer from a 1957 radio :) That also sounds great (to me at least).

So, that's where I am right now. But here's the question:

Next project: Imagine a single valve guitar amp. Lets start with an ECL86 perhaps. I already have a 1950s pentode OPT and a 200v/6.3v power transformer. This won't have enough gain to work well.

So - big question: How about applying a tiny amount of positive feedback to raise the gain - without causing oscillation? Anybody done anything as mad as this before..

Cheers

Pete

Welcome Pete!