70's valve guitar amp needs TLC

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First timer, or at least first time for some years. I have recently acquired a MILES PLATTING (Wilsic) dual input 30w per channel valve guitar amp and although it "works" it does have a constant noise which increases when I increase the volume.

Is this something common to old valve amps or is there an issue which can be fixed?

All hand wired. Changed the GZ valve to a mallard as old one was failing.

How do I attach a pic??

ammers2

Attachments

• DSCN6528.jpg
    DSCN6528.jpg
    753.3 KB · Views: 211
  • DSCN6535.jpg
    DSCN6535.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 210
  • DSCN6538.jpg
    DSCN6538.jpg
    620.1 KB · Views: 192
  • DSCN6527.jpg
    DSCN6527.jpg
    751.5 KB · Views: 198
Last edited:
Hi Jon thanks for quick reply and your interest.

First let me just say I have little to no experience with electronic equipment so please be patient with me.

The noise is a low tone hum, not present when vol is at zero but increases as volume is turned up. The tone stays the same but increases in volume. It occurs whichever input I use.

Do you suggest trying new ECC83's? and could you point out what a 100k anode is and looks like?? (I did warn you)

Thanks
Steve

Attachments

• DSCN6535.jpg
    DSCN6535.jpg
    807.4 KB · Views: 176
The problem is probably one or more of the power supply filter caps. You may want to replace them all if they are decades old. A quick test used by service people is to take a similar capacitor and touch it across the supply caps, one by one. !!Don't get it backwards, observe polarity!! This will cause an arc (zap!) at first but once the test cap is charged and connected, it will ~fix the noise when you find a bad cap. Don't forget to discharge (short) (zap!) the cap after or you might get bitten handling it.
Note that the upper can (in the photos) is two capacitors, test both separately.