Can anyone help me diagnose my Mackie SRM450 Problem?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey guys, I hope this is the right place to post this. I have 3 Mackie SRM450 (I believe they're all V2) and currently one of them is working. I'm a gigging musician (just starting out, usually once a week or so). I'd like to get at least one of them up & running in case the 3rd one fails in the middle of a set. My dad and I are looking at fixing it ourselves - he's been working on electronics his entire life so we're going to give it a shot. The speaker we're looking at repairing first turns on and functions pretty well up to a certain volume. It gets a little distorted at higher volumes and makes a weird chirping noise after it gets too high. Heres a video of what I'm looking at. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

YouTube

Mackie SRM 450 Issue

I believe it's a 450V - my dad and I are looking at trying a DIY repair. He's more experienced in electronics so if anyone has any suggestions on a diagnosis to get a leg up we'd be greatly appreciative.
Works fine at lower volumes - when pushing it higher performing volumes it tends to distort a bit and then make this weird chirping sound.
Here's an example
YouTube

I think you have answered your problem within your last sentence.. "any feedback would be greatly appreciated" ..you are too close to your speaker when playing, so you get "feedback" happening (search "Audio feedback") notice how it stops when you clamp the strings with your hand, get a bit of distance between you and the speaker and see if it stops.
cheers.

monitor B+ lines and check supply bypass caps that's the sound of verging on instability/oscillation that i'm hearing in the you tube vid.