Fender 5E3 Build Troubleshooting No Audio

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi

I am new to building amps and decided to give it a shot. So I just finished building the amp which is based on the Fender 5e3 with a few mods.

I followed the first startup guide linked below: Amp Startup

So after powering up the amp, there was no audio. I noticed the rectifier tube seemed to be dead so I replaced it and it was working fine. However, I still have no audio from the amp.

This is the schematic I followed
OP FINAL.pdf - Google Drive

Here are a few photos of my build
Untitled folder - Google Drive

Would appreciate any pointers as to where the problem may lie

Thank you

I’ve tried all the above to no avail. The voltages seem to check out as well. The tubes are glowing. At first there was no glow in the 5Y3GT so I popped in a new one and it began to glow. So all the tubes are glowing but no sound at all. The speaker wiring is correct and the speaker is working.

Sorry for the delayed response

Start tracing the signal from input to output. That'll find your missing connection or dry joint.

That is, plug an mp3 player (or tone generator or similar) into the input socket (turn it waaay down). Use an audio monitor (aux in into the stereo or spare amp) and probe (with earth clamped to the chassis and a 600V rated decoupling cap in the "hot" line) and follow the sound through the amp. Input socket, first gate, after first decoupling cap (go directly to the plate and you'll get a THUMP), etc etc etc

Be warned it gets LOUDER as you move through the amp!

Last edited:
So while probing I should use a stereo system or any monitors and they should be plugged into the aux output of the amp if I understand correctly ?