Trace-Elliot Bipolar Bear

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have the above mentioned board in a TE v-type 300w head . I found a pair of output transistors shorted . I have the new parts ordered but am now wondering if I should do more? I'm somewhat new to this but have a little experience .
Please help .
Thank you.
Alex

Thanks guys , I'll repost this . I was surprised to see that written on a board . It also says " Make it so ,Number One" . ???

I read somewhere that it is advisable to replace all TIP type units and TR11 .

TR11 is a T2N3904 as listed on the parts list.
TR11 need to be completely covered in Heat Transfer Compound (HTC)
This is to ensure that it keeps the unit biased correctly even when the unit
gets hot. If TR11 is not covered then the fan can cool this component down
and give the board a fault reading of temperature and provide and
inappropriate bias.

No metion of how or what to set the Bias VR or the DC Offset VR tho.

Build and use a Light Bulb Limiter
Quite probably you still have other bad parts, this will protect your new transistors and let you make some voltage measurements to find them.
You need a *filament* lamp, not a CFL.
Since 100W ones became unobtainable (unless you have one stashed somewhere) , those "new improved" ones, with a small olive sized quartz halogen filament lamp inside a larger conventional size glass envelope are fine.
Wolfram-Halogengl%C3%BChlampe.png

ahh "the bipolar bear" output on a trace elliot's spent alot of time chasing ghost in these as well as replacing outputs and drivers.