"REPLACE YOUR GUITAR AMP TUBES WITH THD "Yellow Jackets" NO REBIAS NEEDED. JUST PLUG

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
"REPLACE YOUR GUITAR AMP TUBES WITH THD "Yellow Jackets" NO REBIAS NEEDED. JUST PLUG

"REPLACE YOUR GUITAR AMP TUBES WITH THD "Yellow Jackets" NO REBIAS NEEDED. JUST PLUG AND PLAY. its that easy."

From Replace your Amp tubes with - THD Yellow Jackets

How much of this is BS? I know enough about tubes to know swapping them will not change an amp from class A/B to class A, but dont different tubes need different bias?

Hi, I've no personal experience of using these things, and you don't state what amp you're thinking of using them with! Hopefully you've found and read this, by the manufacturers: http://www.thdelectronics.com/pdf stuff/yj.pdf Apparently, these things contain a cathode bias resistor, so using them will give you fixed cathode bias, ignoring your amps bias supply. I'm a bit concerned about how much power is being dissipated in that yellow plastic cylinder, there's about 100 v being dropped in the anode (plate) circuit, and some in the cathode bias resistor too - whatever anode current the cathode bias sets on the EL84s, multiply that by 100 and you're roughly at the dissipation in each yellow jacket. Have a look at this page: THd Yellow Jackets schematic - Hoffman Ampifiers Guitar Tube amp forum Look at "Yellow Jacket 100.Jpg" and also "EL34 to EL84s.pdf" for someone else's way of doing this. Amplifier operation class is determined by bias, and an AB amp only goes into AB at higher power levels - at low levels it's usually working in pure class A - it really isn't such a rigid dividing line. It really depends on what amp you're putting this into - hope this helps a bit....

THD YellowJackets