Tube amp semiconductor (FET?) emulation

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all, this is my 1st post here!

I'm a noob guitar player, and even noober in electronics (even if I've built a few effects pedals) ...

What I'd like to build is a versatile and portable guitar preamp, to link to a power amp + cabinet or a PA system.
It should have the following features:
- 2 or 3 channels (clean, crunch, lead)
- a power amp distortion simulator
- a cabinet simulator ...
... and it should be all solid state ! (I'd hate to mess up with high voltage and bulky transformers) :xeye:

I would like to 'model' existing amplifiers, Fender, Vox, Marshall, Mesa or others, possibly using FETs. For now I'd like to stick to the preamp section.

The simplest method would be the one from Runoffgroove (or others before, I don't really know to whom give credit :eek: ), which I already used for other simulation attempts.
Example: http://www.runoffgroove.com/professor.html

However, something seems to be lacking in the sound ... So I've found on the net some more refined techniques to emulate preamps and power amps.
- http://www.desertcomb.com/gas/effects_projects/craven_thesis.htm
- FET + BJT combinations at http://gabevee.tripod.com/sstube.html
- LXH2 simulators at http://home3.netcarrier.com/~lxh2/
- the patents by Pritchard ... (for ex. US5434356)

The last seems too complicated for me to fully understand, try out and implement.

LXH2 simulators sound very good, but I don't know how this approach could be easily applied to other simulations.

The 1st and 2nd ones seem promising, since they seem to provide a sistematic way to replace each triode.

BUT ! I didn't understand everithing in the articles, and I'm seeking for help. And here are my 1st (more will com for sure) questions about the 1rst article: