Help me to learn electric guitar

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone,

I really want to learn electric guitar. My favorite electric guitarists are BB King, SRV, Buddy Guy, Eric Johnson, David Gilmour etc.

How difficult is it for a fingerstyle player to learn electric guitars and be able to play Blues Solo? I only play with thumpick and three fingers and never learn to play with a pick. And I am very new to scales etc. I personally feel that learning online lessons could be a better option then going to private classes…Anyone here knows a good source for online lessons for beginners interested in electric guitars.

marina.marina said:
Hello everyone,

I really want to learn electric guitar. My favorite electric guitarists are BB King, SRV, Buddy Guy, Eric Johnson, David Gilmour etc.

How difficult is it for a fingerstyle player to learn electric guitars and be able to play Blues Solo? I only play with thumpick and three fingers and never learn to play with a pick. And I am very new to scales etc. I personally feel that learning online lessons could be a better option then going to private classes…Anyone here knows a good source for online lessons for beginners interested in electric guitars.

I have no experience with online lessons, but I don`t think it is better than a real teacher who can point out flaws in your playing that you might not see yourself. (depends on the teacher of course). But as a former classical guitar teacher myself I might be biased...

To change playing style is never easy, but how hard it is depends very much on how you do it.

In my opinion the fastest and best way to learn something new is to go slow, then go much much much slower till its allmost unbarably slow and apply perfect technique, and then gradually increase speed till you just start to go out of control, then start all over again. And buy yorself a metronome if you don`t have one.