Alembic F2-B

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey guys,

I want to build a clone of the Alembic F2-B starting from the schematic on this site. http://moosapotamus.net/IDEAS/F2B/alembic.htm

The only difference being that I only want one channel. I should mention I'm a newbie in electronics, not totally though, I've done some soldering of PCB kits before and such. A friend of mine who's an engineer will also help.

So here's my questions :)

I've drawn up an eyelet board for the placing of the components, can one of you guys be so kind as to check out this next to the schem and telll me if I did it ok? I'm not sure I got all the switches and pots with the right lugs. Look at the drawing of my pots like you would be directly looking at the back of the pot. Also, I had no idea how to draw a switch and for that matter what sort of switch to use.

This is only the drawing of the channel. My friend and I still need to figure out the power section.

Attachments

• f2-b layout-channelsingle.jpg
    f2-b layout-channelsingle.jpg
    62.5 KB · Views: 1,965
Hint, Hint. Look at the schematic of the Black Face Fender Twin-Reverb. That's the one Garcia gave to Turner to build the prototype. Somebody out there is making good quality G10 glass boards with brass turrets for the old fender amps. Save yourself a ton of work and buy one.

Thanks very much for the hint. I had read the circuit was based on a blackface dual showman so I went and checked out a bunch of Fender circuits. The F-2B's channels are obviously Fender tone stacks, no doubt about that and it is indeed almost identical to the vibrato channel of the blackface twin reverb besides one or two cap values.

I doubt I'll find a pre-built layout exactly like that but at least now I can compare my layout to the Fender ones available.