Another NXV-500 r2!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been gathering the parts for over six months (buying things as budget allows). I finally had everything I wanted but the case. I wanted to put the heatsinks inside the case, so I had Parmetal make me a custom sized case. It turned out looking a lot bigger in real life than in paper...:eek:

I debated whether to build the amp or rent the case as a small apartment to a graduate student.

But I finally got the case late this week. Work has gotten very busy so this will be a slow build. But here's the photos of the case and the parts.

Attachments

• all_parts_but_case.jpg
    all_parts_but_case.jpg
    583.9 KB · Views: 655
  • case.jpg
    case.jpg
    642 KB · Views: 626
Hi Anthony! Better late than never... :rolleyes:

Having the Volt One and the extra transformer did make layout a bit harder. I probably should have gone for two Volt Ones as you suggested just for ease of laying things out.

I will keep posting photos of the build.

Thanks for a the great support!

I have a layout question!

I'm planning on placing the power supply boards (and volt one) over the toroids, using a diyaudio store amplifier chassis bottom (the thick metal ones). The metal sheet is magnetic (steel, not aluminum). See the photo below.

Is the metal base enough shield to protect the ps boards from being so close to the top of the toroid (where the stray fields would be strongest I think)?

I could place the metal sheet perpendicular to the position in the photo so I can slide the ps boards away from the toroids and only the rectifier portion of the ps boards would be above the toroids. Would this be a better arrangement?

Or the boards are shielded by the metal sheet?

Or is using the steel sheet a bad idea (use aluminum instead)?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Attachments

• stack.jpg
    stack.jpg
    432.2 KB · Views: 654