F1 as a Headphone amp, how viable?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to headphones, and was wonder if a current amp like the F1 would make a good headphone amp?

I'm looking at purchasing one of the highend Grado's like the GS1000 or RS1 which are both 30 ohm loads with 98spl sensivity.

Thank you for your insights and recommendations! This is new ground for me personally.

-David

Whether Nelson has any intention of designing a headphone amp as part of the Zen series, I know not, but I've semi-promised to do a JFET one with the Lovoltechs. I've got two or three different circuits in mind, but haven't gotten around to building them. Now that the boys are born, things are (slightly) less crazy and I'm beginning to have some control over my time. I've actually managed to get a couple of circuit boards done that I've been needing to do for the last six months or so, Got my buddy's Hurricane amps running again. Etc.
Anyone who has Hurricane amps, beware...they used 10 ohm resistors under the cathodes so as to have somewhere to read the bias. I don't have a problem with that. What I do have a problem with is the fact that these resistors are little dinky 1/2W jobs that smoke if the tube arcs. Then they lie and tell you that these little 1/2W resistors are 2W. [Yeah, right.] I tried to talk my buddy into using at least 1 or 2W resistors, and preferably 5W. He wanted "what was in there originally." So what happens? They send replacement parts that are completely different from the original ones. Harrumph. The next time they blow, I'm not going into the things unless we use 5W resistors.
Oh yeah, and the cathode resistors for the power tubes along the outside edges of the chassis are damned near impossible to get to.
Grumble. Bah humbug.