High-powered headphone amps

I want a project to keep me busy for a week or so but I'm getting slightly overwhelmed by all the options available so I thought I'd start a new thread to collate all my options.

• I have IEMs, planars and dynamics so ideally it can drive all of those, but being able to drive planars and dynamic cans is a must whereas IEMs are optional.
  • Something more powerful than my current Atom amp would be very nice, especially as I want to power hard to run planars.
  • I want something fully discrete as the Atom is opamp-based.
  • Class A would be nice but not necessary.
  • Since I live in Hong Kong, getting a cheap chassis from taobao isn't a problem, so there's no need to set aside too much money for that.
  • I have a hot air gun and know how to do SMT soldering.
  • Nothing too expensive please, I'm a student!

Last edited:
Joined 2011
Paid Member
It appears that the most difficult headphones to drive in the whole wide world, are the Hifiman HE-6 (citation). In order to produce 110dB SPL, the HE-6 requires an input signal whose amplitude is 11.2V RMS. Headphone impedance is 43 ohms so the amplifier must drive 0.26 amperes RMS into the HE-6. A bit of calculator work tells us: 11.2V RMS is 15.8V peak, and 0.26 amps RMS is 0.37A peak.

Give yourself some headroom for transistor VBE drops, Remitter drops, and to be prepared for future, even-harder-to-drive, headphones: choose ±24V power supply rails. Then design a ±24V DC power supply capable of providing at least 0.75A per stereo channel. There you go: lots of safety margin.