Headphone Amp Kit using 5670 + 6080 tubes - suggestions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello All,

I'm populating a PCB I bought from the auction site, advertised as:
"5670/ 6N3 + 6080/ 6N5P Stereo Tube Headphone Amplifier Heisang Amp Circuit PCB"

Link here:

5670/ 6N3 + 6080/ 6N5P Stereo Tube Headphone Amplifier Heisang Amp Circuit PCB | eBay

PCB came with the following schematic:
attachment.php

It seems to be an SRPP configuration with a cathode follower.
Filaments are all AC powered.

I 'm particularly puzzled by the 6.3 (1A) supply.

Instead of just feeding the 5670 filaments it keeps going to a couple 100Ω resistors and then it connects to ground and on to the B+ supply via a 100KΩ resistor. I'm no expert here so please help explain what's the purpose of all that (if any)? I plan running DC supply to the heaters but I'm wondering if I need to change something in the process.

Also, any suggestions towards improving this design are very welcome.
It is a cheap little kit but I'm going to give it a try.

I think Douk sells it as Little Bear P7 in a completed form.
Will add some pictures later.

Thank you all for reading.

Attachments

• PCB.jpg
    PCB.jpg
    131.2 KB · Views: 4,699
Last edited:

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member
> connects to ground and on to the B+ supply via a 100KΩ resistor.

Tell the whole story. "connects to ground" via a 53kXX 47k resistor, and 100k to +240VDC. Assuming the transformer and heaters are fully insulated, the heater line will sit at +80V (and vibrate +/-3V each side of that).

Why? If there is minor heater-cathode leakage, a DC bias tends to reduce the leakage. In this case, the upper small triode cathode sits at +120V, which is a lot for the heater insulation; the 80V bias reduces the stress.

> connects to ground and on to the B+ supply via a 100KΩ resistor.