Replacing headphone amp potentiometer with a digipot

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey all,
I have an imbalanced 10k potentiometer in my headphone amp and it's bothering me a lot. I know I could replace it with one of those loudly clicking resistor stepper pots but they are too big for the amp's enclosure and just not fun...

I'm just a hobbyist and came up with a circuit (see attachment) that will probably work as an add-on PCB but I'd love to hear opinions and suggestions, please. Maybe this is not terrible and I just need to add something, to avoid introducing any noise for example?

Notes:

• The micro-controller will listen to the rotary encoder and control the U3 digipot accordingly
  • Digipot's PxA, PxW and PxB pins will connect straight to the points of the amp's PCB where the pot is
  • The 2 regulators will be connected to the amp's bridge rectifier before(?) the amp's own voltage regulators (a LM3x7 pair at ±15V)
    The regs are there so that the incoming audio signal to the digipot is within digipot's supply voltage
  • Instead of the 2 regs I could bias incoming audio signal before it enters the digipot and then put a blocking cap on the output, but I'd like to avoid adding capacitors to the signal path
  • MCP4651 digipot datasheet: https://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/22096b.pdf

Attachments

• pot.png
    pot.png
    216.7 KB · Views: 267
Last edited:
Channel tracking in pots is down to, well, pot luck even in some better-quality series. Did you try ordering a few to replace the existing one with the best candidate?