Diy ultra low noise suggestions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am an ex marine radio officer, ex film sound studio technician, and a ham. I want to catchup with the new technologies.

There is a net distinction between atmospheric noise, and inherited radio reciever noise. In theory, it’s not much of use to go for a low noise receiver circuitry, but, in practice, aiming at lower receiver noise, will give a better reception of a weak signal, almost buried in the atmospheric noise.

The atmospheric noise changes hourly, if not less, due to varying propagation conditions, and the solar radiation, known as the sunspotcycle. There is nothing we can do here, except go digital mode!

In the old days, Hf receivers used to have one, or even more, Rf amplifier stage to compensate for the noise created by the mixer and the IF stages. The latest technology is to make use of switching mixers, using the cmos 4066 bilateral switch, or , much more improved, later versions, of the FST type, which have very low mohm resistance.

Also, many recent designs are using the direct conversion method, eliminating both the RF and IF stage, and all the gain, and filtering of the receiver is done at audio level. Hence the need of low noise, but, not necessarily lowest distortion, as we are talking of radio, not pro or hifi here!

Aren't you worried about intermodulation between different stations then? Or is there a channel-selective passive low-pass filter between mixer and amplifier?

Do you know the on resistance of the switches and the aerial/antenna impedance for frequencies around the RF frequencies you tune to? What kind of aerial/antenna do you use?