Buget Headphoneamp/Headphones

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all,

After experimenting with a small headphone amp called the "headbanger", I realized the importance of using a external headphone amp along with my computer and Ipod.

About a year ago i bought a pair of Bose in-ear headphones, It was my first taste of acceptable sound coming from a pair of headphones, at that time I hardly knew anything at all. One year later, I'm still using these headphones, Only with a new jack and hockey tape everywhere:D, I think it's time for a change. I've been playing arround with DIY audio for about a half a year so far (and general audio research), and i believe i have the experience to create my own headphone amp(and get some new cans).

I've looked at a couple of examples from AMB labs, DIYfourms and others. My budget is around $500(CAD), I should note that I am a student going into grade 12 and currently saving for higher education. I normally listen to Light rock to Metal (Dave Matthews band to Opeth). I don't particular know what headphones I would need to get in-order to get the optimum quality in this area.

As for headphone amps, I've complied a small list of the possibles:
-M3
-B22
-Starving student (I heard that it may damage sources, is this true?)
-Millett Hybrid MiniMAX

These are the only ones that have really impressed me, Visually, or I can only remember these at the moment, I'm open to suggestions...

For headphones, I've mostly been looking at brands like:
-AKG
-Grado Labs (I'd have to travel across the boarder to get these at a "Proper" price)
-Sennheiser
-Audio technica

I'm not quite sure how to narrow the results, Or how to discover other headphones that should deserve my attention, other then ask other people and there valuable opinions.

Thanks,
Kurts
[SIZE=-1][FONT=arial,helvetica]
[/FONT][/SIZE]