simplest LED circuit driven by mp3 player headphone amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
try something like this. first set the bias threshold to where the LED barely begins to turn on, and back off 1/10 of a turn or less. then play a tone into the circuit at the desired signal level and adjust until the LED is barely lit,

Attachments

• sig light.jpg
    sig light.jpg
    14.3 KB · Views: 529
sweet, but check it out. i'm a total noob so is that arrow on the bottom a ground? since this gonna be portable and isn't actually gonna be able to touch a ground, would that be the negative terminal on the 9 volt battery? do I also connect the ground from my headphone amp to the same place? :scratch:

I have 2N2222 transistors. how would i modify this to use that part? :drool:

you could use the 2N2222 transistors, but your bias voltage will be about 0.7V instead of between 3 and 5V, so you will want to replace the 100k resistor (R3) with a 10k or 20k. R1 would connect to the collector, ground to the emitter and the junction of R2,R3 to the base.