• These commercial threads are for private transactions. diyAudio.com provides these forums for the convenience of our members, but makes no warranty nor assumes any responsibility. We do not vet any members, use of this facility is at your own risk. Customers can post any issues in those threads as long as it is done in a civil manner. All diyAudio rules about conduct apply and will be enforced.

Active filter board GB

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
2.1 Active Crossover

Hi all,

I decided to build my own crossover starting from the Active Filter Four project by Jens Rasmussen and Bob Ellis. This is my first project of this kind so please excuse me if I ask you stupid questions some time.

One PCB should accommodate two channels (stereo) and one sub-woofer common for both channels.

My first dilemma:

Do I need two LP filters and combine the signal before the output buffer or one LP filter can do both channels?

Here are some details about the OP-AMPs I intend to use:

- OPA1644 (14SOIC) for all the filter stages/sections. I will keep the original design with the selection jumpers between the 2nd order filters, just to have an idea about the differences between a 2nd order and a 4th order filter. I choose this OP-Amp because I may use only one to cover both 2nd order sections of a filter.

- OPA1602/2134 (8SOIC) for the input/output buffers. If you guys can recommend me one of them it will be nice, or I can try both to see the differences if any. I will use PCB adapters between 8SOIC and 8DIP.

Thanks,
Adrian

Last edited:
you can sum the two channels to give a mono channel.
You can then filter that mono channel to give a low bass only channel for a 2.1 system.