• These commercial threads are for private transactions. diyAudio.com provides these forums for the convenience of our members, but makes no warranty nor assumes any responsibility. We do not vet any members, use of this facility is at your own risk. Customers can post any issues in those threads as long as it is done in a civil manner. All diyAudio rules about conduct apply and will be enforced.

NAP250 amp boards & regulator boards

Joined 2010
Paid Member
Following your link from the NAP140/Ebay kit thread, Jeff, I admit that I have very little listening experience with present day Naim models. It seems most of us are still looking at and cloning historical models because the only known official schematic was that of NAP250 power amp. boards until recently. I did listen to one quite often at social occasions and on many quiet evenings, enjoying my host's collection of good quality classical and pop recordings that included half-speed masters etc and a fully kitted Linn Sondek.

It was still difficult though, to get comparable coupling to the amplifiers from preamps that were different to Naim models. You had to use their products together for a few reasons and the smoother top end was one I recall clearly but the preamps themselves were quirky and somewhat incompatible with some of their own models too. SNAPS outboard power supplies, when they arrived, added confusion to what did and didn't work well together.

I mostly listened with a NAC 32 preamp coupled normally to and powered by a chrome bumper version of NAP250, alternatively to NAP140 and NAP120 models which were then owned by friends. I think the review linked below nails it for the NAP250 amp. but I have no time for the NAC12. It works fine but it's microphonic in a bad way because it employed reed relay signal switching, or at least the first issue version did: Naim NAC 12/ Snaps/NAP 250 (Vintage) | Hi-Fi News