which fostex driver/enclosure should i choose?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I want to build some speakers, its the first time ive done anything like this.
At the moment i am using a modded quad 44 power amp (100w)
and a pair of mission 733 floor standers.
I fancy building a full range horn, what can i expect it to sound like compared to my missions?
Because its my first build, for ease im going to use the recomended horn enclosure recomended by fostex for the particular driver, unless anyone has a better recomendation, but which driver should i choose?
Im not looking for huge volume, im more after clarity and detail at normal listening volumes.

Any advice appreciated.
Thanx

P.S. stupid question this but just to make sure, as its one cone, full range, i assume no crossover ect in needed, just speaker wires connected to the terminals on the driver?

graeme uk said:
P.S. stupid question this but just to make sure, as its one cone, full range, i assume no crossover ect in needed, just speaker wires connected to the terminals on the driver?

You still may have to add baffle step correction which uses a resistor and inductor.... in fact I found it absolutely necessary on a FE127E I recently completed.

Here's an example of a BSC circuit.

Hi,

it seems the BK201 design has been discarded by Fostex
in favour of a design that only uses right angled cuts.

IMO the Solo 206 cabinet is more like what rear horn loading should look
like than the latest cabinet design - which I'd describe as extremely crude.

I'd also describe it as a number of linked resonant cavities in series
rather than horn loading - which requires a constantly expanding
cross sectional area in my book.

Also I think the form factor of TGs design is much nicer, though
you could add a couple of inches to the width of his design.

:)/sreten.

yeah, i see your point.