W4 1320 bipole...dimensions?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, super-noob here. I am interested in building a pair of bipole towers using the TB w4-1320 drivers. I've pretty much settled on a folded ML TQWT due to the simplicity of the construction.

I've put together a little illustration of what I'm looking for, However, I don't have the faintest idea of how to calculate the dimensions for this kind of design.

I've done simple bookshelves and sealed woofers for my car before, but this seems a little bit out of the range of those online calculators that i usually use.

Would anyone out there like to enlighten me on how i could calculate what i need? I see a lot of reference to MathCad, which i assume is some kind of custom program... but I'm not sure if this is what i need? thanks a lot in advance.

58081320_080a691b6b.jpg

Go to Martin's Website All of the information is there. You can also check out Bob Brine's website for some advise also.

I'm definately not the best person to answer your questions, not calculate your box for you, but I can hopefully help point you in the right direction. Also if I understand the voigt pipe, look that up. If that is right, what you have designed is a folded voigt pipe essentially. Below should help to design a voigt pipe.

Good Luck,

Josh

Attachments

• voigt_eqn.jpg
    voigt_eqn.jpg
    28.4 KB · Views: 1,143
wow, that was a lot of info...still trying to digest.

I guess it was too much to hope for to find some calculator where i can plug in the driver T+S parameters and some cabinet variables to output some final dimensions.

Well, as they say: Garbage in, Garbage out.
Time to do some homework.

some feedback on the general feasibility of the design would be nice, or the opinion of someone who built something similar.

Where can I find Bob Brine's website?