Dallas II build - Phase shift?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All - I'm a COMPLETE NOVICE - throwing myself in at the deep end by building the Dallas II's and will be using the 208ez (sigma) and T90a super tweeter.

For the T90a, I will be using an MDF 'tunnel' - purely for aesthetics (and to keep the wife happy!). This tunnel design for the tweeter is not open for debate / critique.

However, I would like to know from you guys if there is anything I should be genuinely worried about regarding phase alignment / shift? I found the attached image about phase-shift which was simple enough for even me to understand. In short - If you were me, would you look to set the super tweeter tunnel back a little so that it better aligns with the 208ez (albeit completely messing with mine and my Wife's OCD by not sitting flush with the baffle!)?

If having the T90a tunnel flush with 208ez is going to cause no-to-very little issue, then I'm keeping it as planned!!!

I've also attached some photos of pretty much where i'd got to with the Dallas II's so you can see what I'm aiming for here.

Many thanks!

Attachments

• TM_lobe_time_aligned.gif
    TM_lobe_time_aligned.gif
    7.2 KB · Views: 207
  • -658174887_20181129_144547_2753928.jpg
    -658174887_20181129_144547_2753928.jpg
    771.2 KB · Views: 202
  • -2082265988_20181129_144558_2550831.jpg
    -2082265988_20181129_144558_2550831.jpg
    740.7 KB · Views: 195
  • 142786561_20181129_144710_2487604.jpg
    142786561_20181129_144710_2487604.jpg
    599.8 KB · Views: 194
Well, the acoustical centre of the voice coils (a somewhat nebulous concept) should be physically aligned if you don't want to do it electrically.