Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Dallas II build - Phase shift?
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th July 2019, 11:15 AM   #1
WayneAudio is offline WayneAudio  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Dallas II build - Phase shift?

Hi All - I'm a COMPLETE NOVICE - throwing myself in at the deep end by building the Dallas II's and will be using the 208ez (sigma) and T90a super tweeter.

For the T90a, I will be using an MDF 'tunnel' - purely for aesthetics (and to keep the wife happy!). This tunnel design for the tweeter is not open for debate / critique.

However, I would like to know from you guys if there is anything I should be genuinely worried about regarding phase alignment / shift? I found the attached image about phase-shift which was simple enough for even me to understand. In short - If you were me, would you look to set the super tweeter tunnel back a little so that it better aligns with the 208ez (albeit completely messing with mine and my Wife's OCD by not sitting flush with the baffle!)?

If having the T90a tunnel flush with 208ez is going to cause no-to-very little issue, then I'm keeping it as planned!!!

I've also attached some photos of pretty much where i'd got to with the Dallas II's so you can see what I'm aiming for here.

Many thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: gif TM_lobe_time_aligned.gif (7.2 KB, 171 views)
File Type: jpg -658174887_20181129_144547_2753928.jpg (771.2 KB, 170 views)
File Type: jpg -2082265988_20181129_144558_2550831.jpg (740.7 KB, 163 views)
File Type: jpg 142786561_20181129_144710_2487604.jpg (599.8 KB, 159 views)
Old 12th July 2019, 12:56 PM   #2
Scottmoose is offline Scottmoose  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member