Reference full range or coaxial driver suggestions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone!? I am a hobby speaker designer looking to design my own version of a FAST speaker. I've chosen a woofer, but am seeking suggestions for a mid/tweeter.

H1602-04/06 L12RE/XFC

So far this is on the top of the list. I, and others, seem to think the frequency resonse on this one isn't exactly choice but maybe doable...the power specs look right for my project. Hoping to find something with similar power/spl/size but a flatter frequency response.

Thanks for the help

Camplo

Bi amping, tri amping, whatever the finished designs calls for really. I was looking to crossover at 200hz....I think that sub would do fine there, don't you?
I checked out the suggestion, and noticed it was a full range single driver, not a coaxial.
What I am unsure of is, can a full-ranger, handle being a mid range and tweeter, at high volumes without distorting, in particular if crossed over at 200hz. I'd like a minimum max spl of 110db or better.

Indeed, most full range drivers in the 3 to 4" category will star having noticeable distortions at about 300. So, no go there.

110dBs is not really casual listening, but more like pub style. Have you looked at pro drivers? Their response are usually more ragged, but if it's power you're looking for, they might fit the bill.

Also, the Seas you linked. If you check the graph, the woofer part has trouble going above 80dB, so not a good match for your 15" sub.

This will be two 15" sub, right? Stereo pair? Otherwise, crossing at 200Hz, a single sub would be easy to locate and have imbalance in the sub region.

And if you still want to stay out of pro audio drivers, the TB W6-2313 would be a much better match in terms of sensitivity. And it sounds quite nice as well.

W6-2313 - 6.5” Paper Coaxial Full Range - TB SPEAKER CO., LTD.