Does CBT theory break at narrow coverage angles?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
A CBT has driver shading with delay(due to curvature). A straight array has shading but no delay. Don Keele has shown that a curved array thats not shaded is still a vast improvement over a shaded straight array ie the delay is more important than shading.

Now, the straight array has no arc, which means, if we keep narrowing the CBT coverage angle (arc angle) then it starts approaching a shaded straight array which we know is not constant directivity in the vertical. Does it mean that CBT performance breaks at very narrow angles lets say 5 degrees?

Thanks,
WA

Last edited:
Do you mean horizontal or vertical offset?

I am not an expert with LA, but I keep wondering where the magic really lies. Power shading I cannot simulate, but delay is derivative of distance - a backwards curved array has extra delay between each driver compared to a straight line. An array is very sensitive to delay changes.

Listening distance in PA applications is large compared to domestic living rooms. In small rooms it also works in co-operation with floor and ceiling, making it virtually taller.

Here I simulate the effect of mic distance (listening distance) and height with a 1,,8m. The Edge simulates anechoid response and sadly it cannot show impulse response. Notice how summation/interference of sources changes when distance/delay interactions between drivers changes.

This behaviour is totally different from typical full range or multi-way with crossovers speakers! Would you accept up to 10dB changes in measured response in 500-2000Hz range at different spots? And how does that change affect power response in a small room? How would you equalize that?

Attachments

• la var distance.jpg
    la var distance.jpg
    150.9 KB · Views: 128
  • la var height.jpg
    la var height.jpg
    142.1 KB · Views: 137
Last edited: