Possible to reduce peak in fullrange driver?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm working on an idea for a simple loudspeaker project that involves a small full range driver that has a peak at around 12khz of about 8-9db before going back to normal levels up to 20khz.

I'm a total noob when it comes to crossovers, but is it possible to reduce this peak without affecting frequency curve before and after too much? Or is it something you have to either live with or take care of with an equalizer?

Thanks!

It's not as simple as that. The peak comes from the eigenmode of the cone. Once you start equalising you are affecting the whole radiation pattern, affecting sound in the whole room, which is really what you listen to wherever you sit.

Not only will this do bad things to off-axis response, it will also introduce unexpected peaks and dips occurring in an almost binary fashion.

EQ is not bad, in fact its mandatory most of the time. But it should be done with incredible care. As much care as you put into the material parts of the setup.

I'd choose a reversible physical bandpass filter any time for a job like this.
In this specific case a slot lens made of two sheets of lose felt would be my first choice. Start with a slot the width of the wavelength you are trying to attenuate and experiment from there.
This will fan out that frequency, attenuating it to some degree.

That said, a bit aggressive 12Khz might not be a bad thing, unless you are absolutely direct on-axis which is very rare in real world listening.

Last edited: