MLTL Floorstanders for Alpair 7MS

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello!

Since the Alpair 7MS is right around the corner I have decided to replace my Alpair 6.2m MLTLs mains and move them to surround rears, I hope to pre-order these tomorrow and I'm excited!

I have MiniDSP that takes care of crossing over to two Tang Band 6.5" sealed bass units that handle all channels below 90hz. A Hifimediy T-1m to drive the mains, maybe this will be upgraded later and iNuke driving the Tang Bands.

I have very much enjoyed the sounds of the 6.2m drivers and the form factor the Woden/Planet 10 Sasquatch MLTLs and they look good as far as I am concerned! I have designed BR and sealed cabinets before but not a TL or MLTL so this is my first time trying this.

My aims for this build are:

1. Create compact floorstanders that work with my environment. As slim as possible, I am aiming for 16cm wide.

2. As they will be crossover to two sealed sub/bass units I want to ensure that the low end is clean and easy to integrate around 80-90hz.

3. To make my own design.

After lots of messing around with various allignments using Leonard Audio TL software I have come up with the attached design that is as follows:

13x17cm (204cm cross section area) pipe
77cm long
5x12cm vent at 49cm from the top of the cab
Driver is positioned 9cm from the top

All graphs are without stuffing.

It looks nice and flat and when stuffing is applied it seems to come up very smooth, is this too good to be true? I will post all graphs and hopefully someone might be able to chip in their thoughts on the simulation. As I understand, phase is important for integrating in to a crossover to subwoofers but I am not sure how to read this or tell if its ok. Also, efficiency doesn't seem too high or am I misreading things?

All input appreciated!

G.

Attachments

• SPL.jpg
    SPL.jpg
    120.1 KB · Views: 1,312
  • Phase.JPG