Full range outdoor BT

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Joined 2018
Paid Member
Hello people of diyaudio.

My first post and have been reading up a lot over the last couple weeks.

In the UK so driver selection and availability is a factor.

I come from a background of good SQ hi fi and half decent home cinema. I have a denon/rel/monitor audio radius set up. My bro has Avalon speakers..Allnic amps and Linn Sondek etc.....it sounds a bit good but my AV system suits me.

However I want a fun family outdoor BT speaker. We have a Revo Superconnect in the kitchen and generally crank that up to full tilt when we are dining outside. I'm surprised it hasn't called it a day as it sounds nasty at really high level when doing LF.

So I would like to do a BT outdoor system. Preferably something without XO seeing as this is my first build. Soldering is not an issue for me but specifying the XO components is more than I care for just now.

It will probably be a low voltage DC set up using a tpa3116d2 or similar . Ive order3d a proper Sure Electronics BT reciever.

My big question is drivers. I'm tempted with the Faital pro 3fe or 4fe due to the 91db sens. Also Hivi and even tectonics bmr appeal.
I need some reasonable LF output being outside .

Have considered a sub plus mains option but cable runs are a consideration. One box would be a good solution albeit compromised I know.

I'm leaning towards 2 Faital pro with possibly 2 PR?

Any guidance appreciated

James

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
The Mark Audio Alpair 5.2 is available in the UK (kjf audio (Kent i believe)) and is very good (likely good enuff to show up the shortcomings of Blue Tooth). Small enclosure of 2-2.5 litre.

A PR is a substitute for a vent in the cases wher eyou are tuning low in a small box and the vent becomes too large. I am not a big fan of them.

dave

The faitals are great little units, with good efficiency.