Need help building open baffle/bass reflex hybrid

Bensturgeon, feel free to post your questions here. There is no need to PM, we're all here to help :p No need to feel bad, I was once a total noob too!

Anyway to answer your questions in your original post:

1- With your amp it won't matter if you wire them in parallel or series. Your amplifier will work either way. I would personally wire them in parallel for a 4 Ohm load. As long as your amplifier is 4 ohm stable, you won't have problems. (You can tell this by looking up your amplifier, and if it gives a rated power input into a 4 ohm load, you're fine).

2- As long as you have a way to control your volume, you're fine. (More Volume ((with the same speakers)) = more power) . Also, If you use the TC9FD, as the Nola Brio Trio uses, as long as you stay under 10W you'll be fine. Worst case scenario is that you fry your speaker drivers.. which the TC9FD's are $12/piece.. so no worries.

3- I would highly recommend the TC9FD over almost any other fullrange driver. It's paper just like you asked (I also have a paper bias)! :] Xrk conducted blind tests on this website with several dozen fullrange drivers, and the TC9FD came out among the best 5 drivers, regardless of price. The TC9FD has a much better (flatter) on-axis response than the PS95, and also a much better impulse response. Don't be fooled by the price, this driver is designed and developed by one of the best speaker driver manufacturers to ever exist.

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/full...ind-comparison-2in-4in-drivers-round-4-a.html

4- As long as you run these speakers under 5 watts/channel (aka be careful with the volume knob), there is no need for the crossover imho. Given the sensitivity of this setup at ~90dB 1 Watt/ 1 meter.. I highly doubt you'll need to exceed 5 watts/channel anyway.