DIY fullrange driver?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Has anyone ever attempted this? I'm not an engineer, but it seems to me that not everything has been done in terms of making a truly full-range driver capable of large SPL figures without a subwoofer. :ashamed:

Here's my thinking: a 12" cone with a XBL2 motor (the one with two back-to-back voice coils to reduce inductance) (2" voice coil?) could provide high excursion and low inductance, so adding a whizzer cone would extend the usable frequency range up to maybe 12khz. :scratch2: At the same time, in a ported alignment, this driver could give output to probably 40hz or maybe even below. While this isn't quite reference range, it's enough for PA applications--no coincidence, this is my goal. :D To cover the frequencies above 12khz, a peizo horn could be attached to the back of the driver and horn-loaded through the pole piece and whizzer cone. I suspect this would be enough to reach all the way up to 20khz.

Since the woofer part would be an inductive load, and the peizo part capacitative, it's possible, I think, to design the thing so it wouldn't require a crossover; just hook both elements up to an amplifier. I like this idea a lot. :nod:

If it turns out that the bass isn't enough, we'll add a DIY parthenon to get enough extra thump. :smash:

What do the engineers in the room think? :2c: :spin:

Sure, use a rear loaded low Qts HE driver. Now how much floor space have you got? A 40 Hz horn wall/floor loaded horn is BIG, if you can corner load its 1/2 the required mouth size but still going to be just slightly less sound path(length) due to the reduction in mouth size.
ron

These things characterise a driver able to produce low frequencies:

heavy diaphram
rigid suspension
long excursion

And these thing characterise a driver able to produce high frequencies:

light diaphram
loose suspension
short excursion