Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Which Fostex Driver
Which Fostex Driver
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th February 2016, 11:48 PM   #1
bmwtubed is offline bmwtubed  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Which Fostex Driver

Hello all,
I am planning to build this enclosure recommended for the FE168ez Fostex driver, however I am also interested in trying the FE166en and FE2016en. Does anyone know if these other two drivers would be a good fit for that enclosure? I'm a total newb when it comes to rear loaded horns... Thanks for any help!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (60.8 KB, 463 views)
Old 17th February 2016, 01:04 AM   #2
Scottmoose is offline Scottmoose  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Not an ideal match. The 166 will work (to a point) but you'll have less bass gain than with the 168. The 206 really wants a larger cabinet. For reference, it works quite well in the 208 enclosure (better than the design that is published on the 206 datasheet as it happens).
Old 17th February 2016, 02:31 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thank you. I'll stick with either the 166 or 168 then. The ragged upper end of the 168 scares me a little though.
Old 17th February 2016, 06:19 AM   #4
giantstairs is offline giantstairs  Spain
diyAudio Member

Any reason why you've chosen that BLH? Probably not a good idea to stuff a different driver in there only to be unhappy with the sound after a lot of effort and expense.

If you like the 166 how about a BIB? Simple to build, lots of bass gain (in corners), and designed for the actual specs of your driver. More complex but I believe I remember a horn designed by Ron for this driver a while back.

Good luck!
Old 17th February 2016, 01:45 PM   #5
diyAudio Member