Books for Students

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm a longtime audio gear-head, but I am also a librarian at a design school, and for the first time, have a work related question.

There has been a speaker design project at the school for the last couple of years and I would like to buy some books for the students on how to design them. They design the speakers currently for looks of a desktop system and I am not sure if they even sound good, but I would like them to design it so it will.

Also, I would like to find some good books on simple diy audio project related to amps and preamps as well. Does anyone have any suggestions?
These students don't have time to dive into electrical engineering so it would have to explained in a simple way.

Thanks!!

Books by David Weems and Ray Alden are often hailed by beginners. If you buy these, I wouldn't pay more than about $10. Weems gives some cookbook formulas, but the designs he produces in his book almost never follow them, which is confusing and never explained. I've only leafed through an Alden book (can be obtained at Radio Shack).

If the students have had high school math (I can't imagine what other prior knowledge is needed) I would recommend the Loudspeaker Design Cookbook. Loudspeaker Design Cookbook 7th Edition Book . This at least gives all the standard cookbook tools for design. Although I might pick a few nits with some of its methodology, I haven't read it since the 5th edition...

A book I've never read is John Murphy's Intro to Loudspeaker Design: http://www.amazon.com/Introduction-Loudspeaker-Design-John-Murphy/dp/0966377346 I like the table of contents, but can't see enough of the book on preview to be able to recommend it.

Most of these books can be checked out from the library, which is what I would truly recommend ;)

Last edited: