10F/8424 & RS225-8 FAST / WAW Ref Monitor

I apologise if this has been covered but I am new to speaker building and had a couple basic questions. I am looking at a B80 build due to cost. This would be my first build, so I'm finding it a little more complicated to follow than just buying a kit. That said, go big or go home..

I have seen at least one design using a sports cone, it seems it would save some time. What size is recommended? I see the initial post mentions 1.1L for the dagger. A perfect 9" cone with 5" base is just shy of a liter if my math isn't off, so I would think a regular 9" sports cone might be approximately close enough (since these are all essentially slightly larger comes truncated rather than a sharp point)? Does it require any reinforcement or is stuffing it sufficient? Would it make sense to wrap in dynamat or similar?

For the cross overs, does resistance being out by a tenth or so (eg 2.4 vs 2.3 ohm) make significant difference to the sound?

Again I apologise if we this is a speaker building 101 and has been covered previously.

Founder of XSA-Labs
Joined 2012
Paid Member
It seems a 9in cone can work and 11in one can be supported with a hole on the divider panel. I would wrap it with autosound butyl damping sheets to reduce ringing. It needs to be airtight vs main chamber. Stuffed progressively denser towards tip. Mouth needs to fit the driver basket plus some breathing room. Add felt or melamine foam on walls near first 2-3in of cone opening. 0.1R resistance makes no difference - but adjust R1 to taste if you wish. Some people like more brightness. This speaker is voiced to the Harman profile with a slight right tilt down on the highs.

Hi Xrk,