Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Voice coil
Voice coil
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th March 2015, 11:21 AM   #1
forest 100 is offline forest 100
diyAudio Member

Default Voice coil

Hi guys, newbie here,
Hope you can help me with my issue.Working on the vintage radio with a bad output transformer. 2 pp 42 tubes output, 8 watts. Have no specs on the tr-r. So, the primary impedance will be 10000ohms. My problem is the secondary. The voice coil reads 2.0 ohms DC and I do not know which way to go- 2 or 4 ohms impedance? Checked coil under the mag. glass- no shorts. Any idea?
Thanks in advance.
Old 17th March 2015, 03:04 PM   #2
bear is offline bear
diyAudio Member

How can you check the VC under a magnifying glass when the speaker is not disassembled??

What sort of "radio"?

Have you checked the tube manual(s) for the typical primary impedance for the B+ voltage you are running?? 10kohms seems surprisingly high. In which case the secondary impedance you wish to match will not match.

It will make sound, but the goal is maximum power transfer for a given load Z.

2 ohms DC seems to indicate <4 ohms, but "4 ohms" nominal is likely good enough for a radio.

Have you tested the speaker?
Old 17th March 2015, 08:54 PM   #3
forest 100 is offline forest 100
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by bear View Post
How can you check the VC under a magnifying glass when the speaker is not disassembled??

What sort of "radio"?

Have you checked the tube manual(s) for the typical primary impedance for the B+ voltage you are running?? 10kohms seems surprisingly high. In which case the secondary impedance you wish to match will not match.

It will make sound, but the goal is maximum power transfer for a given load Z.