Fostex (2) FE208 with (1) T90 Tweeter

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
On the Madisound website, while looking at the Fostex T90 tweeter, I noticed a schematic showing how to connect (2) FE208 fullrange drivers to a T90 tweeter.

https://www.madisoundspeakerstore.com/bullet-tweeters/fostex-t90a-top-mount-horn-super-tweeter/

My question is, has anyone seen such a completed speaker? I would think it may make an excellent match to my SET amps. I am a pretty good woodworker but I lack the smarts to figure out how to design an enclosure for that combination of drivers. Could anyone shed some light? Thanks.

Founder of XSA-Labs
Joined 2012
Paid Member
Those FE208 drivers really need a back loaded horn to work well. They are very low Qts and have a tiny xmax. I haven't seen a BLH enclosure for a dual FE208 sigma. I don't think you need a dual driver for a good BLH. In any case, Fostex has a recommend BLH cabinet but not sure how good those are. The BLH experts will chime in but there is probably an existing computer model optimized design.

Founder of XSA-Labs
Joined 2012
Paid Member
I ran the FE208 in RCA Fan's rear loaded horn (with Karlson winged exit) for a couple of years. Damn good sound. Lots of kick, dimensional sounding, albeit with an odd resonance or two around 80 to 200Hz range, but only excited by some tracks. The only caveat is that, even though, it may be sensitive, the fe208 really shines with a lot of power. Don't recommend the T90a as it is a bit harsh; mine have been in the boxes for the last 10 years or so.