Short Line Array (line source) build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there!

I was on HTShack, and I was told I might get better feedback around here... so hello there!

I have always been interested in Line Arrays... I personally think they look cool, but I have zero experience with them. Never built one, never heard one! So, what better project than starting something completely new to me!

I only have one room available as we share our house between our living quarters and working areas. This room is quite large, it is an open design, has a living room and dining room together, opens to the staircase going up, and... it's all cement! (Cement houses are the norm here (Taiwan) as we get lots of earthquakes and some typhoons (hurricanes for people in the US, cyclones down under).

Also.... it has to be spouse friendly! I know a few here will relate.

The room. It is 10m x 5m, and has a 3m high ceiling. (33' x 16', 10' ceiling). It is roughly a rectangle with some expanding here and there.

The audio shelf (which I have to keep because I need extended storage space.. a rare commodity in shared spaces) is 3.6m long and 50cm high (12' long and 19" high). So no space for tower speakers.

Here's the room as it is now:

46626d1392453833-monitors-big-room-livingroom.jpg

I've been researching for full range drivers, and I found this 4", made locally, and available at the reasonable price of $18 a unit. This way, I wouldn't have to design a crossover, which would be another thing to learn! Unless I need to add some tweeters to the mix. ( I have been reading on crossovers lately and it may not be as daunting as I initially thought to get the basics... I'm sure years of experience do help though).

I'm trying to come up with some designs, but I need to understand how line arrays work. I downloaded Jim Griffin's white paper on LA, but I need time to understand the concepts...