full range baffleless speaker

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Im a newbie with no technical ability. I am hoping to get decent sound from a baffleless full range speaker. I will add a powered sub or something later if I need more bass. What speaker would you recommend for the full range? I'm considering the Tang Band 1808. Thanks for the help.

Hmmm...

Right, I'm going to assume a little knowledge of physics here, but I'll try to keep it simple.

Speakers, fundamentally, work by converting electrical energy into air pressure, which then propagates across the room to our ears.

When the speaker cone moves forward, toward your ears, it makes positive pressure immediately in front of the cone. By the same argument, there's negative pressure behind the cone - the cone has moved away from where it used to be, making a small amount of suction.

If we leave it at that, the positive pressure will rush around to meet the negative pressure, and cancel out perfectly. That only happens at zero Hertz (Hertz = number of complete cycles per second, one movement outward, one movement inward) - the cone is forward, and stays there indefinitely.

Music consists of lots and lots and lots (you get the idea) of sine waves. Fourier theory tells us that. So, for each note, there's an associated oscillation of the speaker cone. Forwards, backwards, forwards, backwards.
In front of the cone: positive pressure, negative pressure, positive pressure, negative pressure.
Behind the cone: negative pressure, positive pressure, negative pressure, positive pressure.

Right. If the cycle is suitably slow (ie, a low frequency), most of the positive pressure will be able to rush around, meet the negative pressure, and cancel it out. We call these dipole losses. At lower frequencies, there's more cancellation, as the two pressures effectively have a longer time to meet.