Eminence BETA LTA in TL

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I have checked out Thorsten Loesch's Afterburner files, but I am kind of interested in building a Hammer Dynamics-style box for the Eminence Beta LTA, which I now have on an open baffle while I decide what box to build. My goal for this project is to have a fullrange speaker that has a little more crispness an detail than I am currently getting with the OB, but supplemented by a supertweeter around 7 - 8k and a subwoofer somewhere around 100Hz.

I am not a math person - I am a graphic designer and computer savvy but formulae leave me blinking. I have a table saw and router, and am game to try anything that's not too complex - for example a back-loaded horn is beyond my patience if not skills.

From what I have read the Hammer box is a sort of TL with a pipe tuned to 50Hz (I saw it written somewhere as 500Hz - I think it was Dick Olsher - but I figured that was a typo).

Does anyone have a diagram of the Hammer enclosure they are willing to share just for info purposes? Or would this be considered uncool because it is a proprietary design.

Anybody else explored any other interesting boxes for this driver?

The main reason I like the Hammer box is that it gets the driver up nice and high, unlike the Afterburner, which needs a stand. For WAF purposes, I like the pedestal look.

I am also wondering whether I need the Zobel circuit if I am actively EQing this thing and actively crossing it over for the sub and the tweeter. I am using the Behringer DEQ and DCX 2496es to do so, with Bottlehead Paramour for the mids and miscellaneous solid state amps for the subs and tweeter.

Thanks,

Than

Impressive

Wow, guess Labor Day was the right time to post this query!