Tang Band W3-593SF vs. Tang Band W3-926SD

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all! I'm new to speaker building so I've decided to go with small bookshelf speakers as my first project. After reading around I've decided on using full-range Tang Band 3" drivers (1 per speaker). Of course there has to be two nearly identical TB drivers for me to choose between: the W3-593SF and the W3-926SD. Has anyone had any experience with either/both of these drivers. I did notice that the former was shielded and the latter not, but that's not really an issue for me; I'm mostly interested in the sound I'll be getting. Any suggestions or information would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
-Eric

Have you thought about the W3-871? Most people who end up using Tangband 3" elements for DIY speakers have chosen this driver.

Also, if inch bigger isn't a problem, I'd recommend W4-655. I build a pair of Cyburgs Sticks, and they were so good that I ordered 3 more and am now building another pair of sticks and a center speaker to go with them.

true, 871s is unavailiable except on ebay. I'd

The 593sf is not the same driver as the 871s with a different frame. The 593 has a 2g cone with 18.4mm diameter voice coil.

the 871s I've seen different numbers for voice coil diameter size and cone weight. (2g and 1.71g)
http://www.ritlab.jp/shop/product/speaker/data/tangband/w3-871s.html
http://209.85.225.132/translate_c?h...le.com&usg=ALkJrhhBa8uNAoIkxplxrsEpbUn18w88Ew

Weird, says here in Italian that the 871s is availiable 15/3/09....
I wish partsexpress would carry them again. I'd imagine they would sell, especially with all the positive reviews and projects online.