fe206 in fe208 enclosure

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, completely new to the forum so please have mercy on me.

I've been researching on a DIY speaker for my room. It is 13 X 11 and was wondering if the fe208 enclosure with the fe206 drivers would be suitable. I mainly listen to rock and acoustic music.

As for wood work I have no experience at all, but my friend who has a full wood shop in his basement is willing to lend a hand.

I was also considering the Austin 166, but I'm not sure if the extra effort is worth it, let alone my small room size.

any advice would be greatly appreciated

thanks

ed

Another advert. :rolleyes: :sleep: That's two in as many days. Could you please give it a rest? Your last was moved to the commercial forum, but you seem incapable of taking the hint.

Back on-topic, in a room of that relatively modest size, I'd be careful going to a cab of the 208's proportions. It will completely dominate the space from a physical POV (I have a similar sized space myself), and sonically, it's likely to overpower it. OTOH, it does give a lot of tuning flexibility, and there are various ways to dial things in -as an ROT, you're better off with a big, high-gain box than a little 'un, as it gives you more options. You'd likely find the A166 easier to tune, and it's inherently a more advanced design, but it won't have quite the pressure-wave effect of the bigger cab. There are lots of enclosures around though so if I were you, I'd shortlist a few more before making any firm decisions.

Hello!!

a Forum deletes a post with out telling the poster?

What a forum?
i can only speak about my hobby and my constructions,
so i will repeat:
For such a small room i would prefer little sat horns and an active sub, in oposition to other comercial posters here, for me it is not allowed to show pics or links so please if you want to know