1st timer building Fonken Floorstander MkII with Planet 10 FE127eN drivers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Thus far I've zero experience building speakers. I stumbled into diyAudio when I was looking for a way to retrofit some old speakers with bad drivers. With help from the forum, I replaced 2 woofers & a tweeter with a single FE167, sealed up the cabinet well and after some breakin they sound really good. http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=107127

For my first project, I've selected what I think will be one of the easiest builds - Fonken Floorstander Mark II, is not very big, and that takes advantage of the Planet 10 FE127eN. Can't wait to hear what an EnABL'd speaker sounds like. I'm building these out of 5/8 inch MDF. I wanted Baltic Birch, but I had trouble finding it so I figure I'll *try* MDF. I bought it pre-cut at a cabinet maker and the cut pieces are perfect! *Much* better job than I could have done with my circular saw. I'm hoping that this is just my 1st of many projects and that my skills will eventually improve to the point where I can build (& finish) some of the more complex designs.

I've collected all the parts and now I'm trying to get started and I need some construction advice.

1) - Holes - I should have had the cabinet maker drill the holes for me because that's my 1st problem. I bought a 4 inch hole saw (http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs...langId=-1&catalogId=10053&productId=100495363) for the drivers - haven't tried it yet. But I started with the holes for the holey brace and can't get through the MDF! I've tried a 2 inch hole saw (like this: http://power-tools.hardwarestore.co...-saw-assortment-684927.aspx?CAWELAID=42563461) with an old 9 inch drill press, a battery drill and an electric drill (a very old one). So the 1st question is: what does it take to drill large holes in MDF? Could it be the hole saw I'm using?