Fostex full range speaker help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all,

I'm very new to DIY but have been into High'ish end audio for quite a few years.
I'm wanting to put together a little full range speaker for relatively near field listening. I have a pair of PartsExpress .25 cabinets that are gorgeous. http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=302-707

I know they are on the small side and that's ok for now...I will be complimenting the low end with a sub, so I'm not too concerned with them being able to go much lower than say...80hz or maybe 120.

I'm looking at the Fostex FE167E or possibly the FE108E sigma 4'..or any other recommendations.
At some time I may add a Foxtex super tweeter If needed.

My question is regarding the port...as in how do I figure out size and length?
Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Mike

Looks like FE127E will be the best choice for your .25cuft vented cabs. Unfortunately, they will need a bigger box to get below 150Hz.

To determine the port size/length, you will need some software. I've been using WinISD Alpha for a while, it's easy to use and you can add drivers to the database if they are not already there.

Jeff

GM

Joined 2003
Greets!

Well, most folks just either use an on-line calculator or DL WinISD or similar freeware, input published specs and let the program figure it out, though some don't figure the minimum vent area required for low noise at whatever the rated power is. Anyway, if you plug different drivers in to see how they'll perform in a small cab you'll find that some are best vented and others sealed, with the 166E, 207E being good examples of each, while the 108ES and some others will require the cab's volume (Vb) be decreased.

GM

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member