box for 6.5" audio nirvana

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi –

I just got myself a pair of 6.5” standard Audio Nirvana FR drivers. Although I have little to no experience with speaker building, I do have above average woodworking and basic soldering skills. I plan to power them with a Super T-amp (~ 10 wpc).

From the little I have read about speaker design, the 6.5” AN drivers are best suited for a bass reflex type enclosure … or perhaps a transmission line? Although bass is good it will not be critical for the intended use. I plan to use the system to play my guitar with (> 70 Hz). You see, I have this cool digital guitar processor that I will be playing through (have already tried it through my current stereo system) and wish to have a portable stereo amp/speaker set up. I am not in a band and have no plans to perform live so this is basically for my personal enjoyment without extreme or super loud volumes.

I have seen the Fonken and I do like the style but would like an enclosure that has a tilted front baffle (~ 10 degrees from vertical) so that I can set the boxes on ground level and aim them up at me a bit. In addition, I would like the front baffle to have the largest dimensions of the box.

Are there plans for such an enclosure? How would I go about determining the interior volume and port dimensions?

Feel free to say this is a stupid idea too if you think this will be a waste of time, money, and effort … or even better, feel free to suggest other options.

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
ranaya said:
I have seen the Fonken and I do like the style but would like an enclosure that has a tilted front baffle (~ 10 degrees from vertical) so that I can set the boxes on ground level and aim them up at me a bit. In addition, I would like the front baffle to have the largest dimensions of the box.

I don't get what you mean by the last sentence.