ssabripo's DIY Interconnect cables: $200 cables for 1/10 th the cost!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been doing these cables for a couple of years now for myself and many audio friends and family, so rather than keep explaining the procedure one on one, I've decided to post it here for you boys and girls. These interconnect cables are about the best quality you can get south of silver cables, and you wont have to sell your Pre/Pro to get them! hehehe.

Materials/Tools:

some of the tools you will need:
1) Coax Stripper: Canare TS-5C $60 or TS-100E $99 (http://www.markertek.com/SearchProduct.asp?item=TS100E&off=68)
2) Crimp Handle: Parts Express # 360-680 $15
3) Wire Stripper and cutter
4) exacto knife or blade knife
5) scissors
6) Heat gun
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.
(click to enlarge)

Your materials will consist of:
1) Belden 89259 cable: the dielectric, the teflon, and the quality of copper used in this wire makes it a prime candidate for high-end cables. The outer diameter of the 89259 center conductor (.030 in.) and the nominal core OD (.135 in, also called the insulator OD) make this cable also very easy to handle.
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

2) Canare RCAP-C4F die: this is one of the best bang for buck caps for cable endings. Gold plated ends, extremely low impedance material, and best of all, the perfect fit for the Belden 89259 cable.

3a) Techflex 3/8" Sleeving: This will make your cables look as good as they sound, while protecting the cable from cuts, etc. After all, you dont put cheap Goodyear's on your Porsche, do you?