Connecting a turntable to a TV

Hi,
I have looked through recommended threads to no avail.
I'm not sure where to post my query.

A few years ago I purchased a Sherwood PM-9805 turntable and have never used it.
At the time I purchased a DOSS PA005 pre-amplifier.
I don’t have any audio systems now, and want to play records through my Kogan TV, model KALED40XXXTA-A.
I have connected the turntable cables to the pre-amp (there is a ground wire but no position on the pre-amp to connect it to), and then used an RCA cable to connect to the L/R audio inputs on the TV.
There is no sound.
I don’t know if the problem is the turntable, the pre-amp or the TV.
Is it critical to connect the earth wire? If so, how?
How can I test the pre-amp?
Does anyone have suggestions?
I'm not an audio expert. :confused:

Regards

4:15 PM
To:counts

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Hard to say for sure but things to try would be connecting a known good line level source to the TV such as a CD player. If you have no audio at all as in not even a buzz or hum then I would be looking at the TV settings.

Some TV's may mute in the absence of video information... that is a real unknown in your case.

Make sure you have selected the correct inputs on the TV. Again without beuing familiar with that TV it is an unknown what the options are.

Ground wire problems would cause hum normally, the fact you have no audio means this isn't a concern area at this stage.

The Kogan has RCA audio inputs for the CVBS (composite video) input. The sound for this connection should go through to the speakers when you select CVBS as the input using the SOURCE button on the remote control. You can also select the source using the button under the TV screen to the right of the on/off button.

If you select this input and a message comes on the screen saying No Signal it may mean that the TV is expecting to get a video signal, but your turntable doesn't have anything to connect there, which means it may not work.