The idiot tries to drop voltage...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Disclaimer: I'm not an electrical engineer, and rely on the information I can find when I need it.

Project: I have a heater controller I'm constructing. The heaters are 480, controlled by contactors. I have 480 3-phase coming in, as well as earth and neutral line. The controls (temperature controller, timer and contactor coils) are 240. Therefore, one leg of the 480 3-phase and the neutral line provide 240 VAC for the controls. On paper anyway.

Problem: Incoming voltage is high. My "480" line is 575 volts. The down-side of a complete brand-new transformer, panels and wiring from the street to my point of use I guess. Because of this, I have high voltage at my point of use (~330 volts).

Solution (?): Drop voltage to an acceptable level. Do search, find equations, purchase proper parts, test again, FAIL.

My math (since I'm no math genius):
AMPS= WATTS/VOLTS

In my case, I have 3W + 3W + 4VA for my initial calculation. I forgot the coils on the contactors in this but I'll get back to that later.

My amperage load came out to 0.042A
Resistor value= (volt drop)/AMPS
I need to drop ~110 volts, so that came out to be 2,619 Ohms
Power dissipation= (volt drop) X Amps

In my case I need to shed 4.62 Watts of heat

My parts: Went to the local supplier, and purchased two packages of 5-watt resistors. One is 2.2k Ohm; the other is 2.7k Ohm. I figured between the two, I could drop my voltage safely. Wattage seemed high enough to shed the heat.

Testing: "In God we trust; everyone else needs lots of data." So I test. Put the 2.2k in place, and test. No perceptible voltage drop. WTF, over? Tried second 2.2k from the package, in case I had a bad one. Same result. Test resistor directly with my (bottom of the line Fluke) and show ~1.something Ohm. WTF, Over? Test 2.7k resistor, see slightly higher resistance.