Please Explain

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
What is the difference between BSC (Baffle Step Compensation) and attenuation of a mid/tweeter? I understand the baffle width/wavelength reflection theory but I don't get how a resistor/inductor network can change things beyond timing..

Help this old brain figure this out.. :D

Thanks in Advance!

sreten..

Thank you! The physical (Mechanical) part of it helps me to understand it more. The action-reaction approach works better in my mind..

AllenB..

Now I need to play around with it and actually "hear" the difference to understand this part. I've built the perfect candidate to mess with.. Thank You..

I assume this goes inline before the crossover network?

Thanks again..

Sorry for the confusion.. Maybe I didn't use the correct words? (I'm a noob.. Gimmie a break..)

Does the BSC circuit get installed before the crossover network or directly to the lower range driver after the crossover?

For all that I've read, it is simply installed before the crossover at the feed point of the speaker. Is this correct? (I can design one, I'm sure..)

Quote.. ME..
"I've built the perfect candidate to mess with.."

This means that I have a speaker unit that I can experiment with. I am experiencing an issue with bass response and I believe the issue may be baffle step syndrome..

I wanna hear this 3D thing. Sounds like fun! ;)

Thanks Again, sreten..

What changes? The SPL of the highs? If I'm using a simple 2 way 1st order cross over, (Inductor on the low range and cap/resistor on the highs) does the properties of the cross over inductor need to be lowered because of the added inductance of the BSC? I imagine the cross over point of the tweet is pretty much fixed by the chosen capacitor?

My "Victim" is a home brew unit so changes can be made on the fly. I'm still experimenting and learning..

Just trying to get a grip on this..