Help with a DIY leslie Speaker...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello! I could really use some help with a lesie style speaker i'm putting together, somewhat like this one: DIY Rotary Speaker - YouTube

or even at the simpler end of the spectrum, this one: DIY kompakt and leight-weight Leslie-type Speaker (1st prototype) - YouTube

I'm really quite new to DIY electronics but what I lack in knowledge I make up for with enthusiasm.

I have so far gathered most of the parts I need - A motor from a radio control helicopter and the helicopters rechargeable power pack, an on off switch, and a potentiometer from some old PC speakers.

The issue i'm having is I want to use the potentiometer to control the motor speed however it doesn't seem to like it very much, it works (just) but the speed control is bunched up all at one end and when I pull it right down and right back up again I get a puff of smoke out of the pot. Any ideas on what I could do to resolve this?

Thanks

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Welcome to diyAudio :)

So, smoking pot :D

OK, the pot smokes because the motor draws infinitely more current than a pot can handle. What you need is a new pot and an NPN power transistor to make a simple speed controller. Actually there is one more part... a resistor... to ensure the pot doesn't burn under certain conditions. Dead easy to wire up.

You are going to want it drawing now I suppose :)

Welcome to diyAudio :)

So, smoking pot :D

OK, the pot smokes because the motor draws infinitely more current than a pot can handle. What you need is a new pot and an NPN power transistor to make a simple speed controller. Actually there is one more part... a resistor... to ensure the pot doesn't burn under certain conditions. Dead easy to wire up.

You are going to want it drawing now I suppose :)

Such an incredibly quick reply, thank you so much!