rdesktop, a killer application for raspberry pi

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I got a raspberry pi early on in the ordering process.

I'm an enthusiastic coder, so stuff like the pi is grist to my mill.

Imagine my disappointment when I discovered that I couldn't get it to play music worth a damn out the USB port. It plays stuff, but with great gaps in the playback. As far as I can determine this is a problem with the hardware and it's not fixable.

I can't determine the exact situation since there are people out there claiming to have USB DACs working OK and others talking about a USB hardware problem and the timelines are confused. Mine certainly isn't working

I have thought about buying a spare TV and trying the HDMI sound, but I don't really need another TV. I'd have to struggle to get access to the back of one of the existing TVs to try it, I'll get around to it eventually I guess.

So I disconnected the pi, chucked it in a box and left it for a few months.

A couple of days ago I noticed the Google Nexus 7. That looks like quite a handy tablet, so I started to wonder about doing circuit design under Android.

My most recent laptop died a while ago, and I haven't replaced it. It always had a noisy fan and it irritated my wife. I don't need a laptop now that I'm retired and I do everything on an old desktop. The desktop too is noisy, so I have to sit in another room to use it, so it's a bit unsociable, it means we run 2 TVs instead of one, 2 room heaters, and I spend a lot of time doing design, it's my main interest.