Windows 7

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
XP - 32 bit
Win7 - 64 bit.

sorry, should've mentioned it.

I run as admin, unrestricted account. Not the safest way, but I guess I'll be fine. Never visit more than 8-9 sites, and am pretty careful at the ones I think are marginal.

Why run as admin?

This is the first security measure M$ was trying to implement.
Anything you download or click on gets run with the privileges of the user logged on.

If there's a driver for Vista SP1, it should run on Win7.
That can also be for XP SP3 too.

.........extended verbal diahrrea.........

Although I strongly disagree with you on 90% of what you said, I think there's one thing we can agree on. There's way too many self-taught techs in this world who claim to know alot about computers. The problem with being a know-it-all and not having the knowledge to back it up is you get yourself into situations outside of your realm of comphrehension. I had a teacher who started his class by saying this:

"Amateur computer 'techs' get themselves into trouble because they tend to think they know everything. The problem is they don't know enough to realize how little they actually know."

He was definitely right. Techs like that tend to get in trouble because they don't know their boundries. They think they know it all and will present themselves as knowing all about something that in reality they don't truely understand. When a tech does this, It usually ends up making the tech look like an idiot. I'm sure you can think of a PC tech like that right? Someone who says they know it all but really doesn't have a clue? If you don't, go look in the mirror. :headshot:

Last edited:
Joined 2002
Paid Member