Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment & Tools From test equipment to hand tools

Old Tektronix or a new Siglent scope
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th April 2019, 12:09 AM   #1
tkollen is offline tkollen  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Old Tektronix or a new Siglent scope

I've been an audio hobbyist for many years and during this time my old 20MHz Hitachi V-152F scope has served me very well but has recently started to show it's age and need of overhaul with capacitor replacement etc. Since I recently got involved with RF frequency related work with restoring ancient tuners and receivers I'm now looking for a scope with at least 150MHz-200MHz capability.

I have eventually identified two candidates, one is a 25 years old Tektronix 2465 with 4 channel and 300MHz capability. It is sold by a technician who has serviced, updated, tested and calibrated it. He stands behind the scope and gives me full warranty.

The other candidate is a brand new digital Siglent 1202x-e which has 200MHz and 2 channel capability. It is also much smaller and lighter than the Tektronix but portability has little consequence with me since it is going to stay stationary anyway.

With shipping both scopes have almost the same price at $380. Before I make a choice I would appreciate advise from anyone with experience with either or both scopes.
Old 14th April 2019, 01:39 AM   #2
nigelwright7557 is offline nigelwright7557  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

There is some Chinese seller selling a 20MHz USB scope with FFT for £12-33 on ebay.
The same model is about £45 elsewhere so it must be a batch they are trying to get rid of cheap.